Had I But One More Day…

http://www.napowrimo.net/day-nine-3/

“…our prompt (optional, as always). Because today is the ninth day of NaPoWriMo, I’d like to challenge you to write a nine-line poem…Sir Edmund Spenser wrote The Faerie Queene using a nine-line form of his own devising, and poetry in other languages (French, most particularly) has always taken advantage of nine-line forms. You can find information of various ways of organizing rhyme schemes, meters, etcetera for nine-line works here. And of course, you can always eschew such conventions entirely, and opt to be a free-verse nine-line poet.”

Had I but one more day, 24 hours moon and sun, sea ~ of trial, turmoil,

Peace and plenty ~ I’d buy roses and carnations, a purple hyacinth ~

I’d hold hands and heart of one most dear, laugh with gratitude at life’s

Absurdities, share last dessert and say a prayer ~ write another poem or 2,

Hide them safe somewhere ~ I wouldn’t wonder one more moment, 

Waste it on what-if’s, what-could-have-might-have-been’s ~

I’d bless each name that came to mind, finally forgive ~ and thank God

For all His layered gifts, hard lessons lived which led me to His arms…

Christ’s truth, love, redeeming Grace which takes me Heaven-Home ~

© R L Cadillac, 2017 ~ All rights reserved.

Image ~ Pixabay

Advertisements which may display on this blog are not endorsed by R L Cadillac.

13 thoughts on “Had I But One More Day…

  1. Oh this is precious and perfect and makes me tear up some too! Thank you for using your gift so generously! ( secretly I clapped for it to be a nine line poem! Teehee ! ).

    Like

  2. awwwww. ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ this is just soooooo tender and gentle and honest. and such sweet and blessed thoughts my darling. ❤ ❤ ❤ i hope God will grant our prayer to see each other before that final 24-hr comes. ❤ ❤ ❤ love you

    Like

  3. Pingback: This and other poems | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

