Mirrored Mystery (NaPoWriMo-2017-Day 4)

http://www.napowrimo.net/day-four-5/

“prompt (optional, as always). One of the most popular British works of classical music is Edward Elgar’s Enigma Variations. The “enigma” of the title is widely believed to be a hidden melody that is not actually played, but which is tucked somehow into the composition through counterpoint. Today I’d like you to take some inspiration from Elgar and write a poem with a secret – in other words, a poem with a word or idea or line that it isn’t expressing directly. The poem should function as a sort of riddle…”

Draped, cloaked

Fine net veil partially conceals…

Where is the truth of love?

Is it tucked between layered ruffles

Caught in trousers crease, shirt’s cuff

Does it lift raised eyebrow

Drop demure lashes

Is it combed in perfect coif…

Perhaps it’s painted

Beneath tint of cheeks, lips

Does it slide sensuous-so

‘Gainst rough 5 o’clock shadow?

Truth of love…maybe it’s

Tempered, teased by voice tone

Shyly hesitant modulation

Precisely pointed words

Touch, which misses reach

By inches—or faraway many miles

Oft’ hidden in sighs, silent half-smiles…

Truth of love

Is what we choose to see

Reflected in well, looking glass

Wavy mirrored mystery…

I’ve poured pitchers of poetry

Indigo stains on pages sent, scrapped

Terse, tearful, tender, at times theatric

For artist who once sold new Cadillacs

Still unclear to world is whether he

Who consumed my heart

Clay-footed hero with eyes, dusk-sea

Was mirage, or man of substance, breath

Enduring passion decades past death…

If imagined illusion, I’ll not

Relinquish… but cling to

E’er cherish my truth of love

Who’s now cast in bronze bust

Viewed by visitors, smattering few

Brief meaningless, their glimpse of

My silvered ethereal memories…

Man of enigmatic gaze, deeper than dusk-sea

© R L Cadillac, 2017 ~ All rights reserved.

Image ~ Pixabay

Advertisements which may display on this blog are not endorsed by R L Cadillac.

23 thoughts on “Mirrored Mystery (NaPoWriMo-2017-Day 4)

  1. You deserve a prize. Man was this not only good, but challenging, to find the secret! I was hoping someone else would’ve responded first, in case I’m wrong. :). I am guessing line 27 holds the secret.

    Like

    • It’s kind of a Part 2 to the Elegy, since the opportunity seemed wide open…Yes, I’d left the early Cadillac sales career fact out of the Elegy, and wanted to included it… Thank you SO MUCH–I’m really glad you liked the “pitchers” line, as I rather did too 🙂 Off-topic, I was shopping Amazon tonight/this a.m., and checked out your books–there’s a million of ’em!!! I didn’t know which would be best to purchase, and I sorta want an autographed copy…so I’ve not made a selection yet. Perhaps you could tell me which book has the most pieces that weren’t completely over my head…and how to get one that you’ve signed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sincerely flattered by your interest, RL – but I won’t have you spending any money on my books – I’d be pleased to send you a signed copy from my own stock – I recommend “Legacies” which is actually a 2 volume set – it contains a couple dozen of my favorite poems as selected from each of the books that preceded it – if that suits you, email me your postal address and I’ll have my daughter post the package

        Like

  2. A carnage of a crime scene RL. Clues strewn everywhere, but my first instinct suggests being British may put me at a disadvantage? Completely off track – reading this took me back to days of sitting in a confessional box. A brilliant piece of writing.

    Like

    • Okay, now you must clarify why being British could put you at a disadvantage–is it words I use?? And oh dear, about the confessional box…I hear they’re not much in use anymore, that The Church has modernized a bit with face to face confessions…but not being Catholic, I may not be 99% correct in this. Thank you much for reading, and your fine comments, Davy!!

      Liked by 1 person

        • Ahhh, the bronze bust does refer to his status as an American celebrity…and you might very well know his identity (the added benefit of your detective profession), but I’m loathe to reveal it for fear of being embarrassed or pitied…it’s a rather long and complex love story, suffice it to say. And the mystery boils down to how much of what I describe is “real true fact” or romantic illusions imaginary… Now, don’t let all this keep you up nights, Detective–as although the man is dead, I didn’t kill him! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

