Elegy for Gone-Love (NaPoWriMo 2017-Day 3)

http://www.napowrimo.net/day-three-3/

“(optional) prompt! Today I’d like to challenge you to write an elegy – a poem that mourns or honors someone dead or something gone by. And I’d like to ask you to center the elegy on an unusual fact about the person or thing being mourned.”

~~~

It is always you

Never distant from mind

Heart’s keepsake

My Irish Gone-Love

Remembered, missed

~

Fiercely private

As though uncomfortable

In your own skin

Critical, and criticized for

Rough-tempered perfectionistic

Work ethic, and exterior

Coolly unapproachable

~

Handsome man of secrets

You spoke lines of

Memorized poetry, painted

Tropical floral canvases from

Final home in islands

~

Guarding personal time

Stingy about idle connections

You surprised everyone

After death, magnanimous

Multi-million-dollar estate

Bestowed to charities

~

You could have loved me

But you didn’t

I wanted very little

Yet how could you miss

My consuming neediness

~

Loving you had naught to do

With choice, for me

You were vague “everything”

I longed for… in your eyes

Blue of twilight ocean

Lived all the world, and

Impossible imaginations

Your pensive gaze, captured

For one oblique infinity

My hands to cup

Well of complexities

Still fills me up

Half a century now

From old photo

Wood-framed, simple

My strong noble ghost

A truer love than most

© R L Cadillac, 2017 ~ All rights reserved.

Advertisements which may display on this blog are not endorsed by R L Cadillac.

14 thoughts on “Elegy for Gone-Love (NaPoWriMo 2017-Day 3)

  1. simply stunning – it fairly overwhelms me – I’m so happy you had him – for whatever time – no matter what sadness came about, it cannot diminish the bliss – you make me wish I could have known him

    Like

Leave a Reply

